My life

Welcome to the Real World

The time has come. I am a senior in high school getting ready to start out on my own. I’ve known this has been coming for a while but last week, I began visiting colleges and it all got very real, very fast.

If you have been keeping up with me on Twitter, you will know that I plan to study musical theatre next year in college. To be honest, it has been difficult trying to find a college that has all the components I am looking for. I don’t want to go to a massive school, but I don’t want it to be tiny either, somewhere in between, it must have a musical theatre major program- you would be surprised how many colleges I have talked to who don’t know what this is, it can’t be too far away from home, and I really want it to be a Christian university.

Some of you may wonder about that last point. I am a Christian and finding a good Christian musical theatre program is hard simply because it is not a very popular career choice amongst Christians. I know several Christians who do theatre it just isn’t necessarily looked at as a job, more of a hobby. Nevertheless it is important for me to study in a faith based program. As a Christian, I want everything I do to glorify Jesus, especially my performances. I am terrified of going away to school and being required by my degree to do something on stage that goes against my beliefs and does not please the Lord. That is why I want a program that teaches and trains professional actors while supporting the values of my faith. Now I’m not saying I’m only going to do Disney shows or kids shows, that is not the case. I actually found a Christian University known for their performing arts program that recently did Next to Normal. While this may seem contradictory to what I have previously stated I actually saw this as a good thing.

Yes, at first I was shocked. But my tour guide explained to me that they prepare actors for the professional world of musical theatre where anything can happen. Therefore they feel they can best prepare actors through performing all types of shows and using it as a learning experience. For example they used Next to Normal to dive into what the characters would have needed to go through in order to get to the various emotional stated portrayed in that show.

I was so glad to find a place that will prepare me to work as an actress in musical theatre in a Christian environment. I may have to step out of my comfort zone some, but I will be able to do it while still bringing glory to my savior. Now, I haven’t decided if the school I talked about will be where I attend next fall, and I don’t know where my career will take me but I’m glad to know that I am in good hands and that my path will be revealed for me.

“For I know the plans I have for you declares the Lord. Plans to or you, not to harm you. Plans to give you a hope and a future.”

Jeremiah 29:11

Leave a Reply

